Dec 01, 2017 19:56 JST

Source: The Hong Kong Institute of Directors

The Hong Kong Institute of Directors Announces Winners of Directors Of The Year Awards 2017 at the Institute's 20th Anniversary Dinner

HONG KONG, Dec 01, 2017 - (ACN Newswire) - The Hong Kong Institute of Directors ("HKIoD") this evening held its 20th anniversary dinner at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre to celebrate the 20th anniversary of both HKIoD and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Twelve winners of Directors Of The Year Awards ("DYA") 2017 were announced and honoured during the anniversary dinner. The latest edition of the Awards centres on the theme "Belt and Road: Corporate Governance in Times of Opportunities", echoing the vision and farsightedness behind the "Belt and Road" initiative, which is one of the most significant development blueprints in the 21st century.

Guest of Honour Mrs Carrie Lam, Chief Executive of The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, congratulates HKIoD on its 20th Anniversary.

Twelve well-deserved awardees and the council members of the HKIoD gather for a group photo.

The opening ceremony of the anniversary dinner was hosted by Mr Henry Lai, Chairman of The Hong Kong Institute of Directors, with Mrs Carrie Lam, Chief Executive of The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as the guest of honour, who also delivered an opening speech.

Mr Henry Lai, Chairman of The Hong Kong Institute of Directors, said, "Both HKIoD and the HKSAR Government were established in 1997, hence both have been celebrating their 20th anniversary this year. HKIoD was founded with the goal of advocating good corporate governance and setting up associated standards, as well as support the professional development of directors. In the past two decades, we have upheld our mission to safeguard Hong Kong as an international financial centre, while at the same time assisted in optimising the corporate governance regime so that it is in line with market changes. Over the past 20 years, the Chinese economy has played an important role in the global economy. The 'Belt and Road' initiative has greatly strengthened ties between different economies and facilitated in-depth market convergence, which has helped companies to develop a more extensive presence. We advise all directors to remember that they should adhere to the principles of good corporate governance as they steer their company towards rapid growth. They should also shoulder responsibility for setting higher standards that will lay a solid foundation for development of corporate governance in the coming two decades."

Dr Kelvin Wong, Immediate Past Chairman of HKIoD and Chairman of 2017 Directors Awards Organising Committee, said, "Firstly, I would like to congratulate all of the winning companies and directors. Via the 'Belt and Road' initiative, significant momentum has been gathered across different areas. The winners, through their strong belief and immense effort, have persisted in safeguarding corporate governance amid this macro environment. As our organisation enters its next 20-year period, we sincerely hope that Hong Kong enterprises will grow beyond geographical boundaries and elevate their business to new heights, as well as take up the responsibility of promoting Hong Kong's high-quality governance standards and the importance of corporate governance as a whole."

Dr Carlye Tsui, CEO of HKIoD, said, "The Hong Kong economy is extremely external oriented. With the implementation of the 'Belt and Road' policy, companies are facing an increasingly complicated and ever-changing operating environment. Furthermore, with board members coming from diverse backgrounds, their criteria and understanding of practices and concepts pertaining to corporate governance will differ. As such, when we design training courses, we pay particular attention to content and see whether it can cater for the different needs of stakeholders so as to ensure that corporate governance and directors' practices align with global trends."

The winners of the DYA 2017 in the various award categories are listed below.

Listed Companies (SEHK - Hang Seng Indexes Constituents)
Executive Director: Mr Leong Kwok Kuen, Lincoln JP; Chief Executive Officer, MTR Corporation Limited
Executive Director: Mr Ma Wing Kai William; Group Managing Director, Kerry Logistics Network Limited
Non-Executive Director: Mr Nicholas Charles Allen; Chairman, Independent Non-Executive Director, Link Asset Management Limited
Board: Board of Directors, Kerry Logistics Network Limited
Board: Board of Directors, Link Asset Management Limited
In addition: Recognition of Excellence in Board Diversity

Listed Companies (SEHK - Non Hang Seng Indexes Constituents)
Executive Director: Mr Alexander Anthony Arena; Executive Director and Group Managing Director, HKT Limited
Executive Director: Mr Chen Shuang JP; Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer, China Everbright Limited
Board: Board of Directors, ASM Pacific Technology Limited

Private Companies
Executive Director: Mr Ho Lik Chi Nicholas; Deputy Managing Director, hpa
Executive Director: Mr Andrew Keith; Chief Operating Officer, Deacons
Executive Director: Mr Mark Whitehead; Chief Executive, Hong Kong Air Cargo Terminals Limited

Statutory/Non-profit-distributing Organisations
Board: Board of Directors, Hong Kong Squash

*In alphabetical order of names within category

About Directors Of The Year Awards
First launched in 2001, Directors Of The Year Awards were the first ever such Awards organised in Asia. The project has now become an annual project of impact in the community. The objectives are to recognise directors and board of directors for outstanding director practices and corporate governance, to publicise the significance of good corporate governance and to promote awareness of good corporate governance and director professionalism in Hong Kong. Nominations are open to the public. As good corporate governance is vital to all types of organisations, and professional director practices are encouraged from directors in all board roles, the Awards recognise excellence in categories by company types, including listed companies, private companies and statutory/non-profit-distributing organisations, and categories by roles, including Executive Directors, Non-Executive Directors and Boards. For more details on the previous years' Awards, please visit

About The Hong Kong Institute of Directors
The Hong Kong Institute of Directors is Hong Kong's premier body representing directors to foster the long-term success of companies through advocacy and standards-setting in corporate governance and professional development for directors. A non-profit-distributing organisation with membership consisting of directors from listed and non-listed companies, HKIoD is committed to providing directors with educational programmes and information service and establishing an influential voice in representing directors. With international perspectives and a multi-cultural environment, HKIoD conducts business in biliteracy and trilingualism. Website:

Media Enquiries:
Strategic Public Relations Group Limited
Eveline Wan +852 2864 4822
Brenda Chan +852 2114 4396
Chak Yau +852 2114 4395

Directors Of The Year Awards 2017 Enquiries:
The Hong Kong Institute of Directors
Odessa SO +852 2889 4988
Susan LING +852 2889 9986

Source: The Hong Kong Institute of Directors
Sectors: Daily Finance, Daily News

Copyright ©2024 ACN Newswire. All rights reserved. A division of Asia Corporate News Network.

Latest Release

More Latest Release >>